top of page

Mise en Place

Updated: Oct 8, 2020

Mise en place is a French culinary phrase which means "putting in place" or " everything in its place". It refers to the setup required before cooking. This post is just that. I will try to put into place what it is I am trying to accomplish. I have a life threatening allergy that affects every aspect of my life. For years I have tried to dismiss that. To not allow it to define me.

I crack jokes at it as if to tell myself that it's not that big of a deal. I was able to do this successfuly for years. Then in February of 2018 that facade came to an abrupt end. I was admitted to the ICU AGAIN .... yes again see this was not my first trip to the ICU it was probably my 5th or 6th ( I actually stoped keeping count)

I can't really wrap my head around that .. see in the real world people go into the ICU and either sadly never come out, or its a short blip on the road of life ~ complications from surgery .. massive car accident but they never go back to the ICU.

I on the other hand seem to be a frequent flier.. see there it is popping back up the dark humour around an actually not funny situation.

So after a very rough week I was discharged home. And that was when the really bad & dark stuff started to happen. That was when I realized that I needed help. Everyone was overjoyed that I was home that I lived to tell the tale .. that I was so strong.

But I wished I had died, that it was the end of my story.


I now have a lot of time on my hands and I have poured my little heart out into my kitchen as well as receiving counceling and therapy. I cook and bake as if my actual life depends on it. I want to share my experiences and tell my story and share the things I have cooked and baked and create a place where there can be open dialogue in a safe place.


So that friends is the start of this journey... I have set up and put into place what this blog is all about.


luv

SFB


34 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Plan

Lacking

Illusion

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page